Open Hatha with Yoga Nidra ($12)


This class is taught by:

Angelina Halpin

Describe yourself in three words: Misfit, Free-spirit, "Trailblazer"
Why do you teach Yoga? I teach yoga because I believe that it is the most honest path for self healing, awareness, and exploration. Each practice offers us an opportunity to observe, witness, and learn more about ourselves so that we can thrive closer to our full potential.  
Something surprising about you: My self-symbol is a fire hydrant and I embarked on a journey with it through art and empirical research that began seven years ago.
What inspires you? Most recently, I have been inspired by the pattern of life/death/life, regeneration, evolution, and the way that centering/creating around a deep void has the power to bring fullness into life.
What's the scariest thing on your bucket list? Having a child/giving birth to an earthling.
Training/Certifications: 200-HR RYT from Yoga District in Washington, DC; Reiki I & II; currently pursuing 500-HR RYT at Thrive Yoga
 
Angelina is a Rockville, Maryland native with a diverse background of personal and educational studies. She studied Speech Therapy at the University of Maryland, minored in Fine Art at Montgomery College, and has completed some graduate work in Art Therapy at Naropa University in Boulder, CO. Angelina is a freelance artist who enjoys painting, drawing, mixed media collage, ceramics, and sculpture. She is working towards specializing in yoga nidra studies, along with art + yoga paired practices and workshops. Her classes aim to bring students into dormant aspects of self as a way to unlock unused potential and “gold” within the shadow.
30 minutes of Hatha Yoga and 30 Minutes of Yoga Nidra.
In Hatha Yoga explore postures (asanas); breathing exercises and energy balance (pranayama). Instruction includes pose alignment; relaxation techniques; concentration, meditation. Yoga Nidra practice will train you to become systematically and increasing aware of the inner world by following the guide of the instructor. Yoga Nidra has been shown to reduce tension, anxiety, and most of the symptoms associated with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. The state of Nidra is often said to be equivalent to four times as much deep, restorative sleep. 

Upcoming classes:

  • Wed Mar 29 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Angelina Halpin
  • Wed Apr 05 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Angelina Halpin
  • Wed Apr 12 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Angelina Halpin
  • Wed Apr 19 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Angelina Halpin
  • Wed Apr 26 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Angelina Halpin
  • Wed May 03 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Angelina Halpin
  • Wed May 10 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Angelina Halpin
  • Wed May 17 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Angelina Halpin
  • Wed May 24 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Angelina Halpin
  • Wed May 31 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Angelina Halpin
  • Wed Jun 07 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Angelina Halpin
  • Wed Jun 14 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Angelina Halpin
  • Wed Jun 21 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Angelina Halpin
  • Wed Jun 28 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Angelina Halpin
  • Wed Jul 05 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Angelina Halpin
  • Wed Jul 12 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Angelina Halpin
  • Wed Jul 19 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Angelina Halpin
  • Wed Jul 26 12:15 pm - 1:15 pm with Angelina Halpin