Hatha Yoga - Beginner


This class is taught by:

Alison Heilig

Describe yourself in three words: Radiant, Genuine, Strong
Why do you teach Yoga? Yoga makes me a better athlete and human being and that's the gift I want to share. Yoga brings much needed balance to my life. My practice has been a mirror, a comforter, a motivator, a guide, and so much more - always there to be whatever is necessary for each stage of my life.
Something surprising about you: In the not-so-distant past, I was super unhealthy, totally inactive and very overweight but I turned it all around. I quit smoking, ate real food, become an ultra-marathoner and triathlete, dropped 70 pounds, and gained a happy, healthy life in the process.
What inspires you? Courage, tenacity and authenticity in others.
What's the scariest thing on your bucket list? Hang-gliding
Training/Certifications: I completed my RYT200 Yoga Teacher Training at Thrive. I’m also an RRCA-Certified Running Coach, NASM-Certified Personal Trainer, Corrective Exercise Specialist and Women's Fitness Specialist. In January 2017, I’ll complete my Yoga for Athletes advanced teaching immersion with Sage Rountree.

Alison believes in working with your body, not against it. Her approach to teaching is compassionate and grounding. She encourages students to explore and experience movement in new ways in order to build body awareness, confidence and just generally be more comfortable in their own skin. In her classes — as well as in her own practice — she uses asana, breath and meditation as a means to develop greater strength, mobility and endurance for the body, mind and spirit.

A well-rounded yoga class exploring postures (asanas), breathing exercises (pranayama), and energy balance. Classes include training in: pose alignment; relaxation techniques; concentration, meditation. Expect to improve your overall sense of well-being.

Sweat Factor: 7
Chill Factor: 7


Upcoming classes:

  • Sun Mar 05 11:00 am - 12:20 pm with Alison Heilig
  • Sun Mar 12 11:00 am - 12:20 pm with Alison Heilig
  • Sun Mar 19 11:00 am - 12:20 pm with Alison Heilig
  • Sun Mar 26 11:00 am - 12:20 pm with Alison Heilig
  • Sun Apr 02 11:00 am - 12:20 pm with Alison Heilig
  • Sun Apr 09 11:00 am - 12:20 pm with Alison Heilig
  • Sun Apr 23 11:00 am - 12:20 pm with Alison Heilig
  • Sun Apr 30 11:00 am - 12:20 pm with Alison Heilig
  • Sun May 07 11:00 am - 12:20 pm with Alison Heilig
  • Sun May 14 11:00 am - 12:20 pm with Alison Heilig
  • Sun May 21 11:00 am - 12:20 pm with Alison Heilig
  • Sun May 28 11:00 am - 12:20 pm with Alison Heilig
  • Sun Jun 04 11:00 am - 12:20 pm with Alison Heilig
  • Sun Jun 11 11:00 am - 12:20 pm with Alison Heilig
  • Sun Jun 18 11:00 am - 12:20 pm with Alison Heilig
  • Sun Jun 25 11:00 am - 12:20 pm with Alison Heilig